SKIP TO PAGE CONTENT Scroll to Top

Dental Assistant

  PDF this page

The Den­tal As­sist­ant Pro­gram pre­pares stu­dents for en­try-lev­el posi­tions in one of the fast­est-grow­ing health­care posi­tions. The 107-hour pro­gram will cov­er key areas and top­ics, expos­ing the stu­dent to both class­room and hands-on in­struc­tion. The 76 hours of class­room instruc­tion reviews the neces­sary anat­omy, termin­ology, legal and ethi­cal is­sues as well as the poli­cy and guide­lines neces­sary to under­stand­ing the scope of prac­tice and the practi­cal as­pects of dental as­sist­ing. Ad­dition­ally, this course in­cludes an AHA BLS Pro­vider certi­fica­tion course (8 hrs), Pro­fes­sional­ism in the Wor­kplace (7 hours), and a 16-hour re­view that covers the rele­vant mater­ial neces­sary to pr­epare stu­dents for the State of Texas "TSBDE" Den­tal As­sist­ing exam of­fered through­out Texas.

Students participate in a 48-hour clinical rotation in a dental office located in Baytown or surrounding areas. This is a great opportunity to enhance the skills learned in the program and creates the possibility for employment. Please refer to https://tsbde.texas.gov for complete certification eligibility requirements.

Because of COVID-19 guidelines, clinical site availability varies.

Information is subject to change based on industry, facility, or institution requirements. Please note that CPR training must be Basic Life Support through the American Heart Association.

Estimated Tuition

The cost of the program is $1,969. Additional costs include an online background check ($40 payable by the student), drug screen ($40 payable by the student), and supplies:

  • Supplies: One pair of black scrubs
  • Textbooks: Included in tuition

Dental Assistant (PDF)

Prerequisites
Time Commitment
Immunization Requirements

In an effort to better serve student needs and interests, we offer programs along with our educational partners, CCI, and Ed2Go. For a listing of those programs visit:

Check Eligibility for Licensing Exams

Students who have a felony conviction should check with the Program Manager of their program to determine if a licensing exam is required to be employed. Some examples include, but are not limited to, education, nursing, cosmetology, and technology programs. Legislative changes, specifically, HB 1508 from the 85th Texas legislative session section 53.151 (2017), require notification to applicants and enrollees regarding the consequences of a criminal conviction on eligibility for an occupational license. Students may be ineligible for an occupational license upon completion of a program due to prior convictions.

HB 1508

Students who have a felony conviction should check with the Program Manager of their program to determine if a licensing exam is required to be employed Some examples include but are not limited to education, nursing, cosmetology, and technology programs. Legislative changes, specifically, HB 1508 from the 85th Texas legislative session section 53.151 (2017), require notification to applicants and enrollees regarding the consequences of a criminal conviction on eligibility for an occupational license. Students may be ineligible for an occupational license upon completion of a program due to prior convictions.